ANI McNeil Prize Nomination Date Extended


Australian Naval Institute McNeil Prize

Following cancellation of the 2020 ANI Vernon Parker Oration and Annual Dinner at which the 2020 ANI McNeil Prize was to have been announced, the nomination date has been extended to 28 October 2020.

The winner will now be announced in November 2020.

Nomination Form

Call for Nominations for 2020 McNeil Prize

In 2016, the Australian Naval Institute (ANI) created an award to honour an individual or individuals from Australian defence industry who have made an outstanding contribution to the capabilities and sustainment of the Royal Australian Navy. This award was named the McNeil Prize in honour of Rear Admiral Percival McNeil CB RAN (1883-1951). He was one of the founding fathers of Australian shipbuilding. In particular his contribution to both the Navy and industry is noteworthy as was his faith in Australia’s ability to build world-class ships.

Throughout the late 1930s and early war years McNeil played a pivotal role in preparing the RAN for war. Many of the ship types such as the Bathurst Class corvettes, River Class frigates and Tribal Class destroyers commissioned during the war all began as concepts or blue prints in the Directorate of Naval Engineering under McNeil’s control. His report on Merchant Shipbuilding, presented to the War Cabinet in January 1941, formed the basis for a significant standardised merchant ship building program that commenced in May of that year.

The previous winners of the McNeil Prize are:

  • 2016: Ian Croser AM, the co-founder of CEA Technologies.
  • 2017: Peter Evans from Saab Australia Pty Ltd.
  • 2018: Andrew Whittaker, Director of Shipbuilding at Raytheon Australia.
  • 2019: Peter Jenkins, Founder and Managing Director of Jenkins Engineering Defence Systems (JEDS).

The criteria for the prize are:

  • the nominee is an individual or individuals from the Australian defence industry;
  • the nominee has made a significant contribution to the capabilities of the RAN.

Nominations are to be in the form of a submission of no more than 500 words forwarded to the ANI Business Manager, Sue Hart at For further information contact the ANI Secretariat on 02 6290 1505.

The closing date for nominations for the 2020 McNeil Prize is 28 September 2020.

Nomination Form


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here