About Us

ANI logo

ANI Objectives

The ANI was formed and incorporated in the ACT in 1975 as a self-supporting and non-profit making organisation to provide a forum for Naval Officers and others interested in maritime affairs.
The main objectives of the Institute are:
to encourage and promote the advancement of knowledge related to the Navy and the maritime profession; and
to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas concerning subjects related to the Navy and the maritime profession.

Strategic partnership with RAN

The ANI has signed a Strategic Partnership Agreement with the Total Australian Navy which can be downloaded by clicking here.

Join the ANI
Members of the ANI get discounts on ANI events; the annual publication of Headmark; and the knowledge that they are contributing to important public debates on naval and maritime affairs. To join, email admin@navalinstitute.com.au and ask for details. Joining the organisation is different from subscribing to the website content.

The Constitution, last revised on 31 March 2014, is here.

The 2016-2018 Strategic Plan is here.

Business Manager
Sue Hart
Commerce Management Services
PO Box 241, DEAKIN WEST ACT 2600
email: admin@navalinstitute.com.au
Phone number 02 6290 1505
Fax 02 6290 1580

email: editor@navalinstitute.com.au

Website Editor — Crispin Hull

Book Reviews — Dr Gregory P. Gilbert

Submit news, events, and non-Headmark articles, essays and comment to: webmaster@navalinstitute.com.au

Submit comments on articles via the website on the form below each article.

The Council

(Patron – Vice Admiral Tim Barrett, AO CSC RAN)

President – VADM Peter Jones AO DSC (Ret’d)
Vice President – CDRE Lee Goddard CSC
Treasurer – CMDR Nick Tate
Secretary – LEUT Stephanie Foulkes
Councillors – Dr Greg Gilbert, CMDR Richard Hobbs RANR, CCDRE Justin Jones CSC, MIDN Rebecca Li, Mr Brian Mansell, LEUT John Nash, MIDN Eamon O’Shea, MIDN Ben Page, CAPT Tom Phillips, BRIG Will Taylor OBE RM (Ret’d); LCDR Desmond Woods.

Business Manager Ms Sue Hart