The McNeil Prize

The McNeil Prize is awarded to ‘an individual from Australian industry who has made an outstanding contribution to the capabilities of the Royal Australian Navy.’
The McNeil Prize is named in honour of Rear Admiral Percival McNeil CB RAN (1883-1951). He was one of the founding fathers of Australian shipbuilding. In particular, his contribution to both the Navy and industry is noteworthy, as was his faith in Australia’s ability to build world-class ships. His short biography is here

The Prize was created in 2016 to honour an individual or individuals from Australian industry who have made an outstanding contribution to the capabilities of the Royal Australian Navy.

The Prize was first awarded in 2017.

Nominations for the 2024 McNeil Prize are now open and will close in May 2024. The winner will be announced at the ANI Vernon Parker Oration and Annual Dinner in 2024.

Nominations are to be made in the form of a submission of no more than 500 words forwarded to the ANI Business Manager, Sue Hart at


Brad Flemming, Program Manager DDG Combat Systems Integrator, Raytheon Australia

The news article is here




Jim Cuthill, Operations Director, BAE Systems Australia

The news article is here



Ted Huber, Founder and Chairman, Acacia Systems

The news article is here




Dr Jason Scholz, CEO Defence Cooperative Research Centre  – Trusted Autonomous Systems and Innovation Professor, RMIT University

News article is here.




Peter Jenkins, Founder and Managing Director of

Jenkins Engineering Defence Systems (JEDS)  

News article is here.




Andrew Whittaker, Director of Shipbuilding at Raytheon Australia

News article is here.

Watch the video here.




Peter Evans, Saab Australia

News article is here






Ian Croser AM, co-founder of CEA Technologies

News article is here.