ANI Sam Bateman Book Prize

The Australian Naval Institute Commodore Sam Bateman Book Prize

Inaugurated in 2021, the Commodore Sam Bateman Book Prize is awarded annually by the ANI to recognise excellence in books making a major contribution to the study and understanding of naval and maritime matters. The Prize is sponsored by the National Shipbuilding College.
The Prize is named after Commodore Sam Bateman AM RAN (1938-2020), a former ANI Councillor and strategic thinker in recognition of his efforts to raise greater awareness of naval and/or maritime matters and progressing the understanding and value of navies in society.

Award of the Prize

The winner of the ANI Commodore Sam Bateman Book Prize will be announced on the second Wednesday of each December. It will be awarded in a ceremony in Canberra in March the following the year where the author will be asked to deliver the Commodore Sam Bateman Book Prize Lecture.


Entries are now being received for the 2024 Sam Bateman Book Prize

Entries are to be in the English language and will:

  • Raise the understanding of naval and/or maritime affairs,
  • Have been published from 2 November 2023 to 1 November 2024 and received between 1 April and 1 November 2024, and
  • Be of high literary quality and style

Books can be nominated for consideration by either ANI book reviewers or publishers.

For further information or to submit a book first email for dispatch details.

The detailed Rules and Guidelines for the award and administration of Commodore Sam Bateman Book Prize can be found here.

The 2024 entry form can be found here

Winners of the ANI Commodore Sam Bateman Book Prize


Geoffrey Till for How to Grow a Navy: The Development of a Maritime Power

The 20 December 2023 announcement is here

The 2023 Commodore Sam Batemen Book Prize Lecture will be delivered as a podcast at a date to be announced.


Mike Carlton AM for The Scrap Iron Flotilla

The 14 December announcement is here

The 2022 Commodore Sam Bateman Book Prize Lecture was delivered by Mike Carlton AM on 14 April 2023 at HMAS Watson, Sydney. Details are here


Dr Tom Lewis OAM for Teddy Sheean VC- A Selfless Act of Courage

The announcement and judges comments are here

The 2021 Commodore Sam Bateman Book Prize Lecture was delivered by Dr Tom Lewis on 10 March 2022 at the Australian Defence Force Academy. The Lecture is available here