Winner of the Inaugural MacDougall Prize

Sub Lieutenant Theodore Squires, RAN, is awarded with best entry for the Chief of Navy Competition 2019 by Chief of Navy Vice Admiral Mike Noonan, AO, RAN, during Sea Power 2019 inside the International Convention Centre at Darling Harbour, Sydney.

Vice Admiral Michael Noonan announced the winner of the MacDougall Prize for best entry in the Youth Division of CN’s Essay Competition. It was announced at the concluding session of the 11th RAN Seapower Conference at Darling Harbour on 10 October.

The winner was Sub Lieutenant Theodore Squires with his essay The Past, Present and Future of Maritime Trade Warfare. He and the authors of four entries which received Honourble Mentions, who ranged in rank from Able Seaman to Lieutenant, also presented their thoughts in the Young Turks session of the Seapower Conference. The winning entry and a number of other essays will be published in the next edition of the Australian Naval Review. Some will also be published on-line.

Nearly 80 entries to CN’s Essay Competition were received and the Australian Naval Institute administered the competition on Chief of Navy’s behalf. The Institute would like to thank the three judging panels who volunteered their time to the evaluation.
The winners of the Open and Defence divisions will be announced in coming weeks.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here