Raytheon Australia’s Andrew Whittaker wins ANI 2018 McNeil Prize


Andrew Whittaker is this year’s winner of the Australian Naval Institute’s McNeil Prize. This is awarded to an individual or individuals from Australian defence industry who have made an outstanding contribution to the capabilities and sustainment of the Royal Australian Navy. Watch the video here.

Andrew is the Director of Shipbuilding at Raytheon Australia and is part of their South Australian workforce, which includes more than 350 highly skilled combat system integrators, engineers and program managers working as part of the Air Warfare Destroyer (AWD) Alliance team. He is based at the Osborne shipyard.

AWD Program Manager Commodore (CDRE) Craig Bourke recognised the pivotal role that Andrew has played on the AWD program over the past 12 years. “Andrew has been awarded the McNeil prize for exceptional engineering and program management leadership in delivering Australia’s most potent and capable warships to the Royal Australian Navy,” said CDRE Bourke. “As an example of his leadership, Andrew established, maintained and integrated the engineering activities and technical integrity risk management framework for the program.”

“In recognising Andrew in this most prestigious way, ANI also recognises the capability of the Air Warfare Destroyer and more than 5,000 people who have dedicated millions of hours to deliver these warships,” said CDRE Bourke. “The AWD features Australia’s most advanced anti-submarine warfare capability, state-of-the-art radar technology and an advanced air defence system capable of engaging enemy aircraft and missiles as extended range.”

“The success of the combat system integration activity is a source of tremendous pride for Andrew and his Raytheon Australia colleagues”, said Michael Ward, managing director of Raytheon Australia. “Not only has Andrew and his team performed admirably on this program but they have also built for Australia a national asset in combat system integration.”

The Australian Naval Institute’s McNeil Prize was awarded and presented at the ANI’s Vernon Parker Oration and Annual Dinner held in 2018 on 10 May in Canberra.

Editor’s note:

The criteria for the prize are:
• the nominee is an individual or individuals from Australian defence industry;
• the nominee has made a significant contribution to the capabilities of the RAN.

The winner of the inaugural Prize in 2016 was Ian Croser AM, the co-founder of CEA Technologies.

In 2017 the McNeil Prize was awarded to Peter Evans from Saab Australia Pty Ltd.

Further information: contact the ANI Secretariat: 02 6290 1505; admin@navalinstitute.com.au or ANI Website – www.navalinstitute.com.au


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here